Health professional licensees with a conviction that they have failed to report to their licensing board should not hesitate to take advantage of reporting the conviction prior to their next scheduled license renewal.
In Michigan, health care licensees are required to report the conviction of a misdemeanor or felony to the Department of Licensing and Regulation (LARA) within 30 days of the entry of the plea or jury verdict. Unfortunately, some criminal law attorneys are unaware of this requirement and fail to notify their clients of this duty. It is only later, when the time for license renewal comes up, that many licensees become aware that they will need to disclose the conviction to the State.
Because the license renewal language requests a “yes” or “no” response to the question, “since the date of your last renewal, have you been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for a maximum term of 2 years or a misdemeanor involving the illegal delivery, possession or use of alcohol or a controlled substance that has not already been reported?”, reporting the conviction prior to filing for renewal of your license allows you to answer “no” to that question. This does not mean that the state will not take action on the underlying conviction just because it was reported, albeit late, but it does mean that the first instance of the state learning about the conviction does not come from a license renewal.
We assist health professional licensees in reporting criminal convictions and handling any resulting impact on their licenses. Please contact Aaron Kemp (248) 644-6326 to discuss your criminal conviction reporting questions. Aaron is the author of the State Bar of Michigan, Health Care Law Section article “Criminal Conviction Self-Reporting for Michigan Licensed Health Professionals”